For Additional Information:
David E. Carter
(239) 395-1754


The Third Annual Pixie Awards received a record number of submissions this year, and honored 213 entries from all over the USA and Canada.

The Pixie Awards honors outstanding work in animation, effects, and motion graphics.

A total of over 750 entries were received and 113 received the Pixie Gold Award, while 100 entries received the Pixie Platinum award, the highest level.

The quality of entries continues to rise, as a number of major brands were among the works selected for recognition. Among the winners were these client firms: Alltria, Bank of New York, Bayer Alka-Seltzer, Bose, Columbus Zoo & Aquarium, Eli Lilly, Fuji, GE, Gulf, IBM, Kimberly-Clark, Kodak, Lego Star Wars, Microsoft, Motorola, NASA, Pepsi Philadelphia Wings, Raytheon, Reeseʼs, Revlon, Sony, US Bank, and others well-known firms.

The academic world had a growing number of entries this year, including work from Asbury University, Ball State University, George Mason University, William & Mary, Georgia Tech Cable Network, Michigan State University, Syracuse University, Taylor University, and WGBH Educational Television.

A number of well-known firms were among the top winners: JJ Sedelmaier, Atomic Cartoons, Arcade Creative Group, Blind Visual Propaganda, Cookie Jar Entertainment, Animation Dog Studio, Blink Media Works, Creative Bube Tube, Fivestone Entertainment, Fox Sports Midwest, Little Fluffy Clouds, Go West Creative Group, Hinge Digital, Klei Entertainment, Mekanism, Peace Point Entertainment Group, Radical Sheep Productions, Rainmaker, Inc., Smiley Guy Studios, The DAVE School, Sunrise Entertainment Group, The Concept Farm, V! Studios, Titmouse, and The Core.

The Pixie Awards is sponsored by the American Pixel Academy (APA), a coalition of professionals and educators in the field of electronic moving pixels.

The Pixie Awards is one of the very few awards competitions that provide each entrant the details of their submissions, including scores and judges comments.

The Pixie Awards are under the direction of David E. Carter, a multiple Emmy and Clio winner who, as a young ad man, founded the Telly® Awards, and also edited the Creativity annual for 10 years.